Reporting on our extra-financial performance

A long-standing commitment to sustainable development

Our commitment to sustainable development is evidenced by our long-standing participation in international initiatives, such as:

  • the UN Global Compact
  • the United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative
  • the Diversity Charter of the Institut Montaigne
  • the UN Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI)
  • the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)
  • the UNEP-FI Declaration on Financial Capital
  • the Global Investor Statement on Climate Change
  • the Montreal Carbon Pledge
  • the Net Zero Asset Owner Alliance

An ongoing dialogue with our stakeholders

 

Our SER steps only make sense if they meet society’s expectations.  This is why we build our policy on the basis of a close, regular and constructive dialogue with our main stakeholders. We favour a collaborative approach which, for some specific projects, can lead to the creation of sustainable offers.

In order to incorporate our stakeholders’ opinions into our strategies, a stakeholders’ committee has been set up at the Group level to influence our choices towards sustainable development and to use high-level expertise. Our CEO and members of the Executive Committee are present when this committee meets in order for recommendations to be directly communicated to the highest level.

Through our reporting, we go to great lengths to provide a response to the issues about which we care most.

 

Integrated and consolidated reporting across the Group

 

Since 2001, Caisse des Dépôts has voluntarily reported on its extra-financial performance. As a key step in our social responsibility, reporting is a tool that improves our performance and is part of our commitment to be transparent with our stakeholders. Quality reporting is essential to managing our performance, identifying areas where we need to be more vigilant and reporting on our contribution to society by striving to increase our positive impact over time.

Our aim is to provide clear and comprehensive reporting that provides an overall view of our strategy and organization as well as the positive and negative impacts of our activities. To this end, we have carried out a materiality assessment and, since fiscal year 2018, we have been adding to it with an analysis of our non-financial risks. This risk analysis, the control mechanisms in place to respond to risks, and the associated performance indicators are revised annually with a view to incorporating them into the Group’s global risk management process.

Our Activity and Sustainable Development Report presents the Group’s highlights over the last year. It sets out our model and our core activities, our commitments as a responsible actor and our global performance by giving a structured presentation of our control over our main extra-financial risks and our plans to contribute to the SDGs. While our main extra-financial risks are presented in our annual Activity Report, the other relevant risks with regard to our activities are set out in the Responsible Investment Report as well as in our supplement, which brings together the whole of the Group’s environmental, social, societal and governance data.

These publications are part of our voluntary approach to publishing extra-financial reports in accordance with French legislation on the declaration of extra-financial performance. They also meet the reporting requirements set out in article 173.6 of the French law relating to energy transition for green growth and the United Nations Global Compact “GC Advanced” table.

At the same time, some of our subsidiaries independently publish reports with more detailed information about their social, environmental and societal issues:

Recognised performance

 

Caisse des Dépôts is assessed approximately every two years by three extra-financial rating agencies: Vigeo Eiris, ISS ESG (e.g. Oekom) and Sustainalytics.

As a signatory to the United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment (UN PRI), we produce an annual report for the PRI organization that evaluates our responsible investment approach.

The non-governmental organization Asset Owners Disclosure Project (AODP) also assesses us each year on our consideration of climate risk in our investment policy.

 

 

 

 

Schéma Performance extra financière

Rendre compte de notre performance extra financière

Un engagement de longue date en faveur du développement durable

Nos engagements en matière de développement durable se traduisent par notre adhésion de longue date aux initiatives internationales de référence, parmi lesquelles :

  • le Pacte mondial de l’ONU
  • l’Initiative finance du Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement
  • la Charte de la diversité dans l’entreprise de l’Institut Montaigne
  • les Principes de l’investissement responsable (PRI) de l’ONU
  • le Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)
  • la Déclaration sur le capital naturel de l’UNEP-FI
  • le Global Investor Statement on Climate Change
  • le Montreal Carbon Pledge
  • la Net Zero Asset Owner Alliance

Un dialogue continu avec nos parties prenantes

 

Notre démarche RSE n’a de sens que si elle répond aux attentes de la société. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous construisons notre politique sur la base d’un dialogue étroit, régulier et constructif avec nos principales parties prenantes. Nous privilégions une démarche collaborative qui peut conduire, sur des projets spécifiques, à la co-création d’offres durables.

Pour intégrer l’avis de nos parties prenantes à notre construction stratégique, un comité des parties prenantes a été instauré au niveau Groupe pour aiguillonner nos choix en faveur du développement durable et nous apporter une expertise de haut niveau. Ce comité se réunit en présence de notre directeur général et de membres du Comité exécutif afin que ses recommandations soient directement relayées au plus haut niveau.

Enfin, nous nous nous efforçons au travers de notre reporting d’apporter des réponses aux enjeux sur lesquels nous sommes les plus attendus.

 

Un reporting intégré et consolidé à l'échelle du Groupe

 

Depuis 2001, la Caisse des Dépôts s’engage volontairement à communiquer sur la performance extra-financière de ses actions. Etape-clé de notre démarche de responsabilité sociétale, ce reporting est un outil d’amélioration de notre performance et s’inscrit dans notre engagement de transparence envers nos parties prenantes. La mise en œuvre d’un reporting de qualité est en effet une condition sine qua non pour piloter notre performance, identifier les sujets sur lesquels nous devons redoubler de vigilance, et rendre compte de notre contribution à la société en nous attelant à en accroître les impacts positifs dans le temps.

Notre objectif est de proposer un reporting clair et pleinement intégré, qui fournisse une vision globale de notre stratégie, de notre organisation, et des impacts positifs et négatifs de l’ensemble de nos activités. Pour cela, nous nous sommes appuyés sur une analyse de matérialité, que nous complétons depuis l’exercice 2018 par une analyse de nos risques extra-financiers. Cette analyse de nos risques, des dispositifs de maîtrise mis en place pour y répondre et d’indicateurs de performance associés, est révisée annuellement avec comme objectif une intégration au processus global de gestion des risques du Groupe.

Notre Rapport d’activité et de développement durable présente les faits marquants du Groupe au cours de l’année écoulée. Il décrit notre modèle et nos métiers, nos engagements en tant qu'acteur responsable et notre performance globale en présentant de manière articulée la maitrise de nos principaux risques extra financiers et nos plans d’actions pour contribuer aux ODD. Si nos principaux risques extra financiers sont présentés dans notre rapport annuel et d’activités, les autres risques pertinents au regard de nos activités sont détaillés dans le supplément, qui consolide l’ensemble des données environnementales, sociales, sociétales et de gouvernance du Groupe, ainsi que dans le Bilan investissement responsable.

Ces publications s’inscrivent dans notre démarche volontaire de publication d’un reporting extra-financier conforme au cadre réglementaire français en matière de déclaration de performance extra financière. Elles répondent également aux exigences de reporting de l'article 173.6 de la loi relative à la transition énergétique pour la croissance verte (TECV) et de la grille « GC Advanced » du Pacte mondial des Nations unies.

Parallèlement, certaines de nos filiales publient de manière autonome un reporting sur des informations plus détaillées relatives à leurs enjeux sociaux, environnementaux et sociétaux :

Une performance reconnue

 

La Caisse des Dépôts est évaluée environ tous les deux ans par trois agences de notation extra-financière : Vigeo Eiris, ISS ESG (ex Oekom) et Sustainalytics.

Signataires des Principes pour l'investissement responsable des Nations unies (UN PRI), nous produisons par ailleurs un rapport annuel à destination de l’association PRI qui évalue notre démarche d’investissement responsable.

Nous sommes également évalués chaque année par l’organisation non gouvernementale Asset Owners Disclosure Project (AODP) sur la prise en compte du risque climatique dans notre politique d’investissement.

 

 

 

 

Schéma Performance extra financière